Door

Deciding to make my art more of experience and to link more to death, I wanted to create something more then the tiles. Painting a door and adding mixed media/sculptural aspects evolved my work. I wanted to create something that was still similar to my tiles, so I used similar elements such as small detail and objects attached and because it is a larger surface it allows me to add larger objects. The door also helped me trail and error different patterns and experiments and because its acrylic it is easy to paint over and change the mistake.

Thinking more toward degree show and final presentation , the door will be presented before anything else is seen and hopefully will be functioning. It will be the entrance to the dark space and the only way out also. People often say there is a doorway between life and death and I want this to reflect that.

Leave a Reply

