Objects and door elements

From the previous posts I started to combine ideas of celebration of death, life and techniques. The objects I have placed onto the tiles and door are little trinkets and objects from houses that have been used from a moment of their life. Similar to Latin American burials in how they use objects as a type of identification and meaning. At the beginning of the term I asked people the same question if you could have one object to be buried with you what would it be, Many answered meaningful jewellery, souvenirs, books, photographs etc.  I then realised that even though these objects have meaning to that person there are many others that families, friends will  think about when they think about that particular person, something as a memory or reminder. Each person will have one thing different to another. For example I wouldn’t want a nursery rhyme tape buried with me however to my mother it might be a significant reminder of me.

I also began to realise that different things are an indicator to a stage of life and age. For example on the door I have attached a teddy and little toys from my childhood, also attached are a tampon and condom a indicator of adolescence.

Sweets symbolize Latin American celebrations and especially ‘Day of the Dead’ often given as a gift to the deceased. I have attached sweets to the door as a replication of this but also as a representation of childhood. I may experiment more with food and creating a preservative mask as the sweets worked well and looked affective. DSCF4855

Leave a comment